An Introduction…

You’re probably wondering: What is the meaning behind the title “crossing my bridge”?

Well, first of all, I was listening to this song as I attempted to come up with a name for this blog.. so that helped.

But, as I thought about it, I began to see the comparisons between teaching and bridges.

Metaphorically speaking, our lives are like a bridge.  Though our bridge may seem long or troubled at times, the experiences that we have on our journey across it are the best part.  We can learn so much from these experiences (both good and bad).  From what I have learned so far, teaching can sometimes seem like a crazy, winding, neverending bridge.

And, at times, it may be.

But, the fact that our bridges seem infinite allows for us to constantly learn, build, and change our teaching strategies & philosophies along the way.  To me, this is what makes teaching a great profession. That being said, I’m glad that I pushed myself into taking the first step towards becoming an educator.

Now, throw on your hiking boots and join me as we start the trek across my ‘teaching’ bridge.

Leave a Reply

