“You don’t know that you need to plug in your vehicle during the winter season in Saskatchewan?! Well, that’s just common sense…”

Okay, in all honesty though, what is common sense? In reading the Introduction of ‘Against Common Sense’, Kevin Kumashiro opens with a broad definition of common sense and that it was “what everyone should know”.

Of course this makes sense” I thought.  But as I continued to read Kumashiro’s diverse look into common sense, I realized that not every person in the human race knows what another person knows.  What may seem like common knowledge for one person may not seem the same for another. One small example of this occurred when I first moved to the queen city.  I had taken the city transit for the first time and I did not know about the ‘transfer’ option for switching busses.  When I became flustered over this fact, a lady next to me mumbled something along the lines of “oh come on, everyone knows that”.

But I didn’t.  And that’s when I started to become more aware of what is considered common sense to me and what it is to others.  As I enter the classroom, I want to be careful of these assumptions that I may create in my carefully planned environment.  In order to do this, I want to try to follow the four steps to anti-oppressive education that Kumashiro talks about in his book (which can be purchased here, if interested).  I know that many classrooms are filled with hidden oppressions through common sense and, as a future educator, I want to try to avoid this.

As Kumashiro states on page XL, “change is possible”.

3 thoughts on ““You don’t know that you need to plug in your vehicle during the winter season in Saskatchewan?! Well, that’s just common sense…”

  1. i really enjoyed this post! I did not know about the transferring of buses either so you are not alone! Pretty sure the bus driver i had that day was getting annoyed from all the questions i was asking.

  2. I found it very interesting that you inserted that little tidbit about the bus pass in here, as it really isn’t ‘common sense’. I also remember when I hadn’t taken the bus for awhile and I came on it after the system had changed to the R-Card, I was so confused. I got the strangest looks because I didn’t know where anything was. It was embarrassing. What we all believe to be ‘common sense’ may not be to those that are unaware of what it is. Great job Blair, I enjoyed the read.

Leave a Reply

