For as long as the sun shines, the grass grows, and the waters flow..

On February 3rd, 2014, my education 210 class was privileged to have a guest speaker: Miss Claire Kreuger from Moose Jaw (feel free to follow her on twitter or read her blog!!)

She talked to us about how, as Canadians, we are all treaty people. She also mentioned that it is our duty, as teachers, to make sure that treaty education becomes part of our classrooms – and I couldn’t agree more!

Growing up, I didn’t learn much about the First Nations culture.  In fact, it wasn’t until grade 10 in my Native studies class that I even learned a bit about the history behind the nation that was stolen so many years ago.  So, on Monday, it was a breath of fresh air to have Claire in our classroom talking about how she has integrated treaty education into the classroom.  She focused on treaty education through digital learning – a part of teaching that I am very interested in.  I enjoy using technology in classroom (though, sparingly) and to hear her ideas of combining the two (technology and treaty education) was eye opening.

I hope to teach my future students about the agreements that we made to share this native land. You know, this native land that was made for you and me.

And if you now have that song stuck in your head, you can listen to it here 🙂

Leave a Reply

